Eternal Sunshine of an Addicted Mind

1386007_659566520744242_160226284_nI love this part of the writing process – the part when my brain is so consumed by my writing project that there is little room to think of anything else.

I’ve become addicted to my characters and their story!

Every waking (and half conscious) moment is consumed by images of characters and scenes. They are showing up in my dreams now. And the result is that I’m back on track with my goal of outlining three short stories by the end of 30 days. Earlier this month, I modified my goal timeline due to Hubby’s surgery and recovery.

But I’m going to modify my goal one more time.

What I’ve completed since Oct 1st: character sketches for most of the main characters, basic description of the first three stories, and tons of research.

What I can finish by Oct 31st: detailed plot outlines for the first three stories.

Definitely that falls short of my declared goal of completing “rough drafts” of the novellas, but I can forgive myself for that. πŸ™‚ It positions me perfectly to jump into NaNoWriMo this year. So, throughout November I’ll post my progress here and on the NaNoWriMo site. I decided that I’d take advantage of the opportunities they offer, including the bonus of networking with more writers. πŸ˜€

6 thoughts on “Eternal Sunshine of an Addicted Mind

  1. Oh Wow I didn’t know you were considering NaNoWriMo. I think it is a great thing actually. As I understand it you can’t have started writing yet but you can have done research and outline. Some famous books have come out of NaNoWriMo. The one I remember is ‘Water for Elephants.’ I imagine what you have at the end is your rough draft. A great challenge to set for oneself!! Good Luck!! 50,000 words in a month..right? or Write? πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks. It’s worth participating in at least once in my life. πŸ˜‰ I think it’s supposed to be about one novel, but I’ll be aiming for three novella rough drafts – approx. 20,000 words each. I guess the three together could be seen as one full length book, so maybe the distinction is a irrelevant anyway.

    Enjoy the vicarious journey!

  3. Recently watched something where Kurt Sutter talks about his writing of Sons of Anarchy. It made me make a note to myself to check and see if he has more to say when the show is officially over. It was intriguing but he was vague in lots of places because of not wanting to spoiler.

Leave a Reply

