The NaNoWriMo Cometh!

Sorry that I’ve been so quiet for a few days. I had a quick trip with my family to South Florida to visit my brother-in-law. It was really nice to get away for 24 hours!

When I got home, I officially signed up for NaNoWriMo. Why not?! Just another online venue to publicly declare my writing goals and hopefully feel some sense of accountability to it.

But I discovered that the Orlando group was having a Kick-Off Event at a restaurant less than five minutes from my house the next day. Cool!!

I went to the event yesterday, and I was amazed that over 50 other authors were in attendance too. I did enjoy the cultish fervor among the NaNoWriMo-ites (or whatever we are supposed to call ourselves). I love being in a crowd of like-minded, equally nerdy/unique individuals. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Although the sizable crowd seriously diminished any chance of my winning a door prize. (And I seriously wanted to win one of the two flasks. They didn’t have Supernatural logos on them, but what the hell. I could still use it as a prop if I decide to do Halloween as Dean Winchester.)

So, I apparently have three more days to prepare before the big write-athon begins on November 1st – and I’ve already earned 5 badges!! (Badges? Really? This feels like the Girl Scouts.)

But, I am ready. ๐Ÿ˜‰

(NOTE: I wanted to post an image of one of the button ads they let us use to promote that we’re doing NaNoWriMo this year. But as a graphic artist, this year’s batch of buttons are horrid. So this will be an image-free post today. :/ย  )

 

2 thoughts on “The NaNoWriMo Cometh!

  1. Oh, fun! I went to a start-off meeting one year when Orlando was not so organized and there were only three of us there. It didn’t inspire me much. I’m glad yours was better!

  2. Ouuu, today is November 1st!! So good luck on beginning however you have it structured. A great challenge and I think it is great you decided to make it work for you.

Leave a Reply

